You are here

ForEco Research Team

ForEco: Forest ecology

Research Team and Contacts:

Researchers                Current research areas Contact

Akli Ait Benali

Remote sensing; Environment; Fire-Human relations; Fire spread Modelling; Uncertainty estimation           aklibenali@gmail.com

Alexandra Correia

Climate change impacts in Mediterranean woody species; Carbon fluxes in the soil-vegetation-atmosphere interface; P. pinea; Q. suber            alexandrac@isa.ulisboa.pt

Ana Sá

Fire spread modeling, fire regime properties and land use change using satellite data and GIS analysis           
anasa@isa.ulisboa.pt

Carla Nogueira

Drought and multiple nutrient effects on diversity, productivity and ecosystem C fluxes of a Mediterranean grassland

       carla.a.nogueira@gmail.com

Duarte Oom

Remote sensing; global pyrogeography; fire regime characterization; global burned area algorithms          duarte.oom@gmail.com

Fernanda Valente

Mathematical modelling in hydrology and micrometeorology          fvalente@isa.ulisboa.pt

Fernando G. Monteiro

Earth and environmental sciences (soil science, pedology)          fgmonteiro@isa.ulisboa.pt

Filipe Costa e Silva

Carbon and water fluxes in Mediterranean ecossystems; tree ecophysiology          filipecs@isa.ulisboa.pt

João Costa e Silva

Quantitative, evolutionary and population genetics with focus on the management and sustainable use of forest genetic resources         jces@isa.ulisboa.pt

João M. N. Silva

Vegetation fires. Greenhouse gas emissions from biomass burning. Land use/cover mapping. Remote sensing. Field spectroradiometry. Adaptation to climate change.          joaosilva@isa.ulisboa.pt

João Santos Pereira

Plant responses to stress and climate change; Carbon balance of the ecosystem; Decline of forests and mitigation of CO2 emissions          jspereira@isa.ulisboa.pt

Jorge Soares David

Catchment hydrology, ecohydrology, tree transpiration, interception loss, water movement inside trees (tree hydraulics)          soaresdavid@isa.ulisboa.pt

José Carlos Rodrigues

High-throughput phenotyping characterization of lignocellulosics by FTIR/NIR, analytical pyrolysis and chemometrics          jocarod@isa.ulisboa.pt

José M. Cardoso Pereira

Global and regional pyrogeography; Fire ecology; Remote sensing          jmcpereira@isa.ulisboa.pt

Manuel Madeira

Earth and environmental sciences (soil science, natural resources management)          mavmadeira@isa.ulisboa.pt

Manuel L. Campagnolo

Remote sensing; image processing; pattern recognition          mlc@isa.ulisboa.pt

Maria C. Caldeira

Ecosystem ecology and tree ecophysiology. Drought effects on ecosystem carbon and water balance. Ecosystem and tree resilience to drought.          mcaldeira@isa.ulisboa.pt

Maria Helena Almeida

Plant production; forest genetics; adaptability          nica@isa.ulisboa.pt

Maria João Martins

Applied mathematics to ecology and biology; Estimation in extreme value theory; Computational statistics; Numerical methods          mjmartins@isa.ulisboa.pt

Maria J. P. Vasconcelos

           maria.perestrelo@gmail.com

Maria Margarida Ribeiro

Population genetics; natural resources conservation; forest tree improvement          mataide@ipcb.pt

Marjan Jongen

Productivity and biodiversity in sown pastures; Application of remote sensing technologies as a decision support tool for management of sown pastures          marjanjongen@isa.ulisboa.pt

Patrícia M. Alexandre

Wildfires; wildland urban interface; spatial modeling; spatial analysis; building loss to wildfires          
palexandre@isa.ulisboa.pt

Pedro Silva

Applied mathematical research to Ecology and Biology; fundamental mathematical research     pcsilva@isa.ulisboa.pt

Raquel Lobo-do-Vale

Tree ecophysiology; tree responses to drought and warming, including extreme events          raquelvale@isa.ulisboa.pt

Rita Costa

Genetics and genomics of woody species; plant biotechnology; breeding for resistance to biotic stresses; molecular markers          rita.lcosta@iniav.pt

Sofia Cerasoli

Spectral vegetation indices for stress monitoring in Mediterranean forests; Trees response to climate change, including extreme events; Carbon balance at leaf and tree scale.          sofiac@isa.ulisboa.pt

Teresa Soares David

Ecophysiology and Ecohydrology; plant water relations; tree hydraulics; drought; roots          teresa.david@iniav.pt

Tiago Monteiro-Henriques

Native (Quercus spp.) forest regeneration, clustering of vegetation data; bioclimatological mapping            
tmh@isa.ulisboa.pt

Tiago Oliveira

Wildfire risk management; risk governance; technology, policy and management           toliveira@isa.ulisboa.pt

Xavier Lecomte

Land use and ecosystem functioning; Plant-animal interactions, grazing and browsing; shrub encroachment; carbon sequestration and fire behavior; soil nutrient cycling           xlecomte@isa.ulisboa.pt

Yannick Le Page

Global vegetation fire modeling; Integrated Natural-Human system assessments; land use change and impacts; Agro-ecological zoning.          lepagey@isa.ulisboa.pt

 

Colaborating Researchers current research areas Contact

Ana Carla Madeira

   

Catarina Moura

  cmoura@ci.uc.pt

Fernando Leite Pereira

           
flpereira@ipcb.pt

Francisco Abreu

  fgabreu@isa.ulisboa.pt

João Carreiras

          
j.carreiras@sheffield.ac.uk

John Gash

  jhg@ceh.ac.uk

Jorge Orestes Cerdeira

Mathematical models for biodiversity conservation          
jo.cerdeira@fct.unl.pt

Maria da Graça Abrantes

  graca@isa.ulisboa.pt

Maria do Carmo Horta

Soil science; Fertilization; Plant nutrition; Sustainable management of P fertilizers; Use of biosolids and compost as fertilizers           
carmoh@ipcb.pt

Maria João Gaspar

         
mjgaspar@utad.pt

Maria Madalena Fonseca

Earth and environmental sciences (soil science; geology; mineralogy; mineralogical study of soil fractions by XRD analysis)          
madfons@isa.ulisboa.pt

Nuno Borralho

  nunoborralho@sapo.pt

Nuno Cortez

  nunocortez@isa.ulisboa.pt

 

Doctoral students current research areas Contact

Ana Paula Rodrigues

Plant ecophysiology: responses to abiotic stress (plant physiology, biochemistry and metabolomics).           anadr@isa.ulisboa.pt

Ana Raquel Rodrigues

Earth and environmental sciences; Agroforestry systems management and soil quality monitoring; Soil C and N fluxes and dynamics        arfelizardo@isa.ulisboa.pt

António Correia

          
ahcorreia@isa.ulisboa.pt

Melanie Häusler

Remote sensing; Modelling surface energy fluxes over drought and fire affected areas; Monitoring evapotranspiration           
blomel@blomel.net

Teresa Sampaio

Quantitative genetics; Statistical modeling applied to forest genetics.           tsampaio@isa.ulisboa.pt

 

 

Research Assistants CURRENT RESEARCH AREAS Contact

Carla Faria

Plant production techniques; forest genetic improvement; conservation of genetic resources; environmental education carlafaria@isa.ulisboa.pt